We start from Platanias to Lavkos.
We park in the large parking lot next to the gas station and from the opposite uphill road we head to the square. It is one of the most beautiful squares of the villages of Pelion with deep shaded plane trees and cool waters. Right next to the church is the Phampeion Museum.
The Phampeio Museum is housed in the old Primary School of Lavkos, in the southern part of Pelion, 50 km. from the city of Volos. It was founded in 2005 in honour of the artist Thanasis Fampas (1922-2011). His painting, which is influenced by archaic austerity and Byzantine iconography, is dominated by the female figure. He has edited the covers of books by C. Ritsos, M. Ludemis, H. Lefousis, of I. Tsatsos as well as covers of classical music albums. In the halls of the Museum there are 60 paintings (60 paintings) and 8 statues (made of white marble from Pelion) donated by the artist himself.
Then we can visit the one of a kind Radio Museum – Antonis Tavanis. Close to 120 antique radios, dating from 1920 to 1960 are housed there.
The radios were donated by the German professor of Mechanical Engineering – who is currently participating in the CERN experiment – Wilfred Sheps, a great philhellene who met and fell in love with Pelion 13 years ago, and while the Museum used to be housed in the neoclassical two-storey house of the artist Magda Karastathi, it is now housed in the building of the agricultural cooperative of Lavkos at the entrance of the village.Further information about both museums can be found at our hotel.
In the square of the village there is the church of Panagia, dedicated to the Nativity of the Virgin Mary. It has a remarkable bell tower and belongs to the category of the three-aisled basilica. In her honour there is a festival in the village on 8-10 September as well as on the eve and day of Agia Paraskevi on 25 and 26 July.
Next, take some time to visit the Monastery of Agios Athanasios, located north of the village in the “Kotikia” area, an area with rich vegetation. The monastery was built in 1795, on the site of the old monastery of the monastery of Taxiarches of Agios Georgios Nilias, at the expense of Stergios Bastedik. It was built by the architect Dimos Zipaniotis and has been classified as a listed monument.
Its characteristic feature is the stone reliefs of the sculptor Milios, which adorn its exterior, as well as the early Christian remains. In the monastery of Agios Athanasios there is a festival on the eve of May 1 and on the day of May 2 there is a feast just beyond the monastery around the site of an old threshing floor. This particular festival is transferred calendar-wise if it coincides with the days of Lent or Easter.
Of course, to make your unique visit to Lavros truly unforgettable, be sure to wander around its beautiful neighborhoods, walk its picturesque cobbled streets, admire its beautiful mansions with neoclassical influences and relax in its spacious paved square. Here you will have the opportunity to enjoy the shade offered by the tall plane trees and to rest for lunch in one of the taverns and restaurants that exist there.